Header Graphic
FOTL History

1971  Friends of the Library (FOTL) was formed in July 1971 as a non-profit organization to help with raising funds to purchase items and books not in the library's budget. The group was created by Charlene Bauer and Rhoda Martyn. The initial advisory board consisted of Jan Mason, Marie Sheets, Connie Johnson and Margaret Force. The first officers were Olga Wrobel, Rhoda Martyn, Marie Bottoms and Jean Warden.

See: http://www.huntingtonbeachca.gov/files/users/library/complete/090924-24.pdf

1975  Huntington Beach Main Library opened a new library that became the Central Library of the City of Huntington Beach. In that same year FOTL established a Gift Shop in the Central Library. It was staffed with 30 volunteers and has grown to more than 70 volunteers. It is considered to be one of the finest library gift shops in California.

See: http://www.huntingtonbeachca.gov/files/users/library/complete/091002-9.pdf

See: http://www.huntingtonbeachca.gov/files/users/library/complete/090924-41.pdf

1979  FOTL helped celebrate the fourth birthday party for the new library with Kelly Lange and Pat Sajack, broadcasting live from the library.

1981  FOTL and other library support groups held a fundraiser that netted $16,000. From 1981 to 1993 the various fundraising events raised money for the new children's wing. The monies raised went to the purchase of books, computers, library equipment and a Yamaha piano.

See:  http://www.huntingtonbeachca.gov/files/users/library/complete/091002-15.pdf

See: http://www.huntingtonbeachca.gov/files/users/library/complete/091002-17.pdf

1993-94 The children’s wing was completed. FOTL donated more than $250,000 to this needed addition.

2002 FOTL donated $100,000 to purchase new books.

2003 FOTL pledged $120,000 a year for two years to keep two of the branches open that were in danger of being closed because of the city budget cuts. The library system has four branches besides the Central Library.


Dina Chavez

Dorothy Boesch

Terri O'Connor

Armida Camacho

Dolores McGuire

Sheila Plotkin

Sally Nielsen

Dorothy Boesch

Beatrice Hanser

Ethel Watts

Caryl Harvey

Diane Schochet

Marian Carmichael*

Dorothy Silverman

Dorothy Boesch

Wilma Towle

Barbara Kerney

Ellen Scott

Janice Pell

Laurie Hill

Maria Bottoms

Nancy Philips

Elaine Craft

Shirley Kerins

Olga Wrobel*


2020 - Present

2017 - 2020

2014 -  2017

2011 - 2014

2009 - 2011

2008 - 2009

2004 - 2006

2001 - 2004

1998 - 2001

1996 - 1998

1994 - 1996

1991 - 1994

1991 - 1992

1989 - 1991

1987 - 1989

1985 - 1987

1983 – 1985

1981 - 1982

1979 - 1981

1978 - 1979

1977 - 1978

1976 - 1977

1975 - 1976

1974 - 1975

1971 - 1974

The 2014-2105 FOTL Board of Directors

2014 -2015 FOTL Board of Directors

Pictured in Front Row (l-r): Caryl Harvey, Sheila Plotkin, Shirley LaBounta, Bea Hanser, Jean Beres. Second Row (l-r): Marcy Long, Armida Camacho, Terri O’Connor, Dorothy Boesch, Peggy Barla. Third Row (l-r): Joe Shaw, Judy McLaren, Dolores McGuire. Not present: Mary Spafford, Myra Campbell, Ethel Watts, KC Boelsems, Dave Bergevin. 

FOTL Privacy Policy

company logo